Do you want to remove friends from Venmo?
Or have you already removed a friend and are wondering whether Venmo will notify them or not?
Whatever be the case, in this post, we have discussed all you need to know about removing and blocking friends on Venmo.
So, let’s get started.
How do Venmo friends work
It is not necessary to be a friend with someone on Venmo to pay them, but it helps ensure that your payments are going to the right person.
But how does Venmo add friends? – READ NOW
When you first sign up on Venmo, you will be asked to grant permissions to access your contacts list, if you allow Venmo App to access your contacts, it will find your friends that are already on Venmo and automatically add them to your friend list, and you’ll be added to theirs.
Also, Venmo allows you to add your friends from Facebook. If you go forward and link your Facebook account to Venmo, it will access your friend list (along with your email address, profile picture, and public profile). It will automatically add friends to your friend list who have a Venmo account.
So, that’s how friends on Venmo work. If you want to add someone, not on your contact list, you can scan their QR code and add them to your friend’s lists on Venmo.
When I remove a friend on Venmo do they know
No, Venmo does not notify the person you remove or block from your friend list. So, you can remove anyone from your Venmo friend list without worrying that they will get notified.
Well, if you remove someone from your friend list, they will still be able to find you by searching, but if you block someone, they will not be able to find you anymore on Venmo and will believe that you have deleted your Venmo account.
However, if they want, they can search for you by using another account.
So, now you know that your friend will not be notified when you remove them, you can go and remove them. If you don’t know how to remove someone on Venmo, follow the step-by-step guide below.
How to remove friends from Venmo App
To remove a friend on Venmo (from the app or web), all you need to do is navigate to your friend’s Venmo profile. On the web, click the three dots in the upper right-hand corner and select “Remove as Friend.” Simply tap the “Friends” checkmark > Unfriend in the app, and you’re all set!
How to make Venmo private
Venmo has three privacy settings you can choose: public, friends only, and private.
Below is what every privacy setting means:
- Public: The transaction will be shared on the public feed and anyone on the internet may be able to see it.
- Friends only: The transaction will only be shared with your Venmo friends and with the other participant’s Venmo friends.
- Private: Venmo will not share the transaction anywhere other than the “Your Stories” tab in the personal transactions feed and, if it’s a payment to another user, the feed of the other person in the payment.
Steps to make your Venmo Private:
By default, the privacy setting in Venmo is set to public, however, you can make them private by following the steps given below:
- Log in to Venmo.com.
- Navigate to Settings
- Tap Privacy
- Select your preferred default privacy setting.
- Click Save Settings.
Who can see Private Venmo transactions
Nobody except the sender and receiver will be able to see the private Venmo transactions.
So, if your Venmo privacy settings are set to private. Venmo will not share the transaction anywhere other than the “Your Stories” tab in the personal transactions feed and, if it’s a payment to another user, the feed of the other person in the payment.
Blocking someone on Venmo
If you are getting unwanted spammy comments or payment requests from unknown users, or you simply want to block someone’s from your feed on Venmo, you can easily block them by following the steps below.
- Log in to the Venmo app on your iPhone or Android device
- Tap the “☰” icon at the top of the app
- Tap “Search People” to find the user that you want to block
- Once you’re on their profile page, tap the three circles in the upper right corner of the screen
- You should see an option to block the user in red
This will ensure that the user will not show up in your Venmo network, and they won’t be able to search for you in the app (and vice versa). Most importantly, the other user won’t be able to send or request any payments from you.
Note: You will need to log out of the app and back in after blocking the other user for this to take effect.
If you ever want to unblock a user, head to your Settings > Block Users, and you’ll be all set!
Pro Tip: You can set the privacy setting for each individual payment or purchase, right from the payment or purchase itself. Just select or tap on the privacy setting in any payment or purchase and select your preferred setting.
What happens when you block someone on Venmo
When you block someone on Venmo, they won’t be able to find you anymore on Venmo, and they will not be able to send or request any payments from you.
Moreover, if you have had any past transactions, they will also not be able to click on your Profile, and your name will be replaced by ‘XXX’ for them, and hence they will believe that you have deleted your Venmo.
Well, they can search you on Venmo from their other account or from someone else account.
If you block someone on Venmo can they see past transactions?
No, as soon as you block someone on Venmo, they can’t click on your profile anymore. Any notes you had on transactions you’ve had with them will be deleted, and all it will say is “XXX paid you” or “you charged XXX” with no other information. They won’t be able to click on your name to go to your account or anything.
Venmo is simple P2P money transferring service owned by Paypal. Setting up and using Venmo is pretty straightforward.
Unlike other money transferring apps, Venmo has friends and a Public feed where people’s transactions are visible to everyone. Well, if you don’t want to display your transactions on the public or friends feed, you can change it by choosing several privacy settings that Venmo provides, as discussed above in the post.
Well, if you want to unfriend someone, you easily do that, and Venmo won’t notify the person that you have removed them from your friend’s list. However, if you unfriend someone, they will still be able to find you by searching for you.
Moreover, Venmo also allows you to block someone. So, if you block someone on Venmo, they will not be able to find you anymore on Venmo, and most importantly, they will not be able to send or request payment from you.
So, that’s all for now. After reading this post, I hope you were able to get all the answers related to friends on Venmo. If you want to read more guides like this, visit our Venmo page or follow a few stories from the related posts below.
Ankit Kumar is an Engineer by profession and a blogger by passion. Over the last several years, he has written tons of articles, solving queries on Quora. He also has years of experience in investing in Cryptocurrencies, Funds, and Stocks.